1. Home
  2. /
  3. Assault & Battery Attorney

Assault & Battery Attorneys Fairfax, Northern VA

The offenses of assault and battery are separate and distinct under the laws of Virginia. As per the legal definition, assault pertains to the deliberate act of causing another individual to reasonably fear impending physical harm, whereas battery refers to the actual physical contact or striking of another person without their consent.

In Virginia, it is common for assault and battery to be jointly charged as a single offense. The offense in question falls under the classification of a Class 1 misdemeanor, which is subject to a maximum penalty of 12 months imprisonment and/or a fine of up to $2,500.

The gravity of the offense may escalate based on the circumstances surrounding the occurrence. If the assault and battery caused significant bodily harm to the victim, the offense can be prosecuted as a felony. Furthermore, if the assault and battery entailed the utilization of a weapon or the intention to perpetrate a more severe offense, it could also lead to charges of a felony nature.

There exist various defenses that can be availed by individuals who are accused of assault and battery in Virginia. Some of the defenses include self-defense, defense of third parties, , and consent. It is important to discuss any possible defense that you may have with a skilled attorney to build your defense strategy.

It is imperative to acknowledge that individuals who have been subjected to assault and battery have the option to initiate civil litigation against their assailants. It is within the realm of possibility to pursue recompense for medical bills, income loss, and any other harm incurred because of the occurrence.

In the Commonwealth of Virginia, it is imperative to acknowledge that assault and battery are grave criminal offenses that may lead to substantial legal and financial ramifications. If the event that you are confronted with accusations of assault and battery, or if you have suffered because of such an offense, it is imperative that you seek the counsel of a proficient criminal defense attorney, victims’ rights attorney, or personal injury lawyer in the state of Virginia.

Article 4, Assaults and Bodily Woundings, of the Code of Virginia, discusses Crimes Against the Person.